The A’ Word

Posted on Updated on

 Image

 

I’ve received quite a number of responses from people who are displeased or uncomfortable with my references and mention of apartheid in this blog.

They are basically saying that black people must just get over it and move on.

I’m told that they are ample opportunities in South Africa that black people are just too lazy to take advantage of. I’m told that apartheid is over now and the current government is just as bad as apartheid. I’m accused of being racist and am asked if I hate white people. Although I agree with some of the points made I have identified 3 motives and 3 groups of people who are displeased by talks of racism and apartheid in South Africa. The Nervous, The deceived and the Guilty

 

There is much I can say but in a commitment to keep my blogs as concise as possible I’ll respond in a brief manner.

 

The Nervous

See the system of apartheid explicitly engineered that all that’s good, will be for whites as a superior race. And blacks would not only be Inferior but sub-human. further indoctrinated by both the white supremacists blend of religion and anthropology studies. The black man was less human and too be treated as such. Also, the only way the black could eat was by the scraps that the white master cast to him. Politically these ideas have been changed but they persist in an implicit manner.

 

The whites are still our employers, 83% of our stock exchange is white owned the nervous still view white people as the masters and are nervous about saying something that might offend them. If they fall out of grace with their masters, by offending them with all this apartheid-was-bad-and-is-still-affecting-us crap, they might not be thrown a scrap to survive.

 

The deceived

They think that the end of the apartheid was the end of its effects. And that any black person still struggling in a new South Africa is lazy and not taking advantage of opportunities. I have been on route to work as early as 5 am sometimes, and our trains and taxis are exclusively filled with blacks. and I’ve been back from work as late as  22h00 pm and I’m yet to look outside the window at the taxi driving parallel to mine and see a white man listening to the blues on he’s iPod, tired from he’s labors heading back home. This tells you that most black people work long and hard. But they have to overcome apartheid tainted issues like our transport system, designed to keep them at the back of the bus.

 

The Guilty

Those who benefited and continue to benefit from Apartheid. And are humane enough to recognize in a corner of their minds that they enjoy comfort through a history of evil and are tortured by their subconscious.

If you belong to any of these groups, I want you to know that this blog has no interest in nourishing your delusions and sharing in your fears. we recommend you shed your fear and open your eyes and agree with whats true and right, regardless how difficult. 

 

It’s virtually only black South Africans who suffer from poorly facilitated transport systems. And this has its origins in apartheid. Even if it offends you, we must talk abut these things and resolve them.

 

–We can fix this.

 

One thought on “The A’ Word

    […] the simple exercise of going to work. You laughed with me and at me as I recounted tales from the metro-rail and Zulu wars with taxi drivers and mocked vigorously at my simple dream to own my own […]

Leave a comment